BestKegerator

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Triple Tap vs Four Tap Kegerators: Tap Count Compared

Short answer: A triple tap kegerator has three faucets; a four tap has four. The count is the number of different beers you can serve at once, not the size of the cabinet. Three taps suit a home bar with a few regular choices. Four taps suit a shared space or a small venue where guests want more variety. Read the title for the count, then check the cabinet width and the list of included parts before you decide.

What the Tap Count Means on a Listing

The tap count on a kegerator listing is the number of faucets the unit can pour from. A triple tap kegerator has three faucets; a four tap kegerator has four. The count appears early in a title, often right after the brand or the type, as in "triple tap kegerator" or "four tap kegerator". Read it as the serving plan, not as a measurement of the cabinet.

Three taps and four taps both describe how many kegs you can have on draft at the same time. The count does not tell you the cabinet width, the number of doors, or whether the unit is a conversion refrigerator. Those details come from the bullet list and the dimension lines. Compare listings on stated details, not on the tap count alone. For a broad first look at the category, the best kegerator guide covers the main choices.

A four tap title promises one more faucet than a triple tap, which is one more beer on draft at the same moment. It does not promise a taller tower, a wider cabinet, or a more powerful unit. Every other feature is a separate line in the listing.

How Many Taps You Need

The number of taps you need is a planning question first. Match the count to how many different beers you want available at once, not to how much you drink. If you rotate a single choice often, one tap is enough. If you keep two regular choices, a dual tap works. If you want a regular lineup plus a guest choice, three taps fit well. Four taps suit a shared house or a small venue where several people want different options at the same time.

A useful decision list:

One beer on draft: single tap.

Two regular choices: dual tap.

Three choices, with one rotating: triple tap.

Four or more choices for guests or a small venue: four tap.

  • Start with one beer on draft: single tap
  • Keep two regular choices: dual tap
  • Add a guest choice: triple tap
  • Serve several people with different preferences: four tap

Taps and Cabinet Width

Tap count and cabinet width are separate details, but the two often sit in the same title. A listing may read "24 inch triple tap kegerator" or "18 inch four tap kegerator". The width name tells you the size class; the tap count tells you the serving plan. Measure your space as a general idea before comparing units, then read the dimensions in the bullet list.

A wide size name gives the tower room for more faucets, so four tap listings usually appear on wider cabinets. The opposite is not a rule: a narrow cabinet can carry a single or dual tap, and a wide cabinet can carry three. Read both details on each listing rather than assuming the tap count tells you the footprint. The 24 inch kegerator guide and the 15 inch guide compare units by stated width.

Home Bars and Commercial Listings

Listings use "commercial" as a title word for cabinets positioned for frequent service. Commercial kegerators often carry three, four, or more taps and use direct draw or a multi faucet tower. Home listings more often carry one to three taps. For a home bar, a triple tap is a common middle point; for a shared space or a small venue, a four tap reads like the better match.

The word "commercial" does not guarantee a tap count. It tells you how the maker positions the unit. Read the tap count in the title and the included parts in the listing. If you are furnishing a venue, the commercial kegerator guide compares cabinets on stated details. For a home setting, the difference between a dual tap and a triple tap is covered in the dual versus triple tap article.

Reading Tap Counts in a Title

Tap count words are consistent across listings: "single tap", "dual tap", "triple tap", "four tap". Some titles use "tap kit" or "dispense kit" to point at the faucet set, which may come with the cabinet or be sold separately. Read the listing to see what is included. "Faucet" is another word for the pour point; a title may say "faucet" where another says "tap".

A title cannot say everything about taps. It does not tell you the faucet style, the handle type, or the tower height. It does not state whether the unit is direct draw or tower based. Those details appear in the bullet list or in the section that says what is included. If the seller does not state a detail, the listing simply leaves it out.

When you compare a single tap and a dual tap for a first kegerator, the same reading habit applies: count the taps in the title, then look for the cabinet details in the listing. The single versus dual tap article walks through that step.

What a Title Cannot Say About Taps

The useful habit is to read the title for the tap count, then the bullet list for the cabinet, then the box contents for what arrives. A title that only says "kegerator" without a count leaves the taps to the listing. What "not stated by the seller" means on this site: some listings give the count, others give only the cabinet. Compare two listings on stated details to see which one tells you more.

A triple tap listing and a four tap listing may look alike in a title search. The difference shows in the parts list: a four tap tower, four faucets, and a wider cabinet. If the listing does not state those, the tap count in the title is the only reliable clue. The triple tap guide and the four tap guide sort picks by stated details.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want three regular choices on draft at homeA triple tap listingBest Triple Tap Kegerators in 2026: 5 Picks by Specs
You want more variety for guests or a shared spaceA four tap listingBest 4 Tap Kegerators in 2026: 3 Picks by Specs
You are starting with one or two beersA single or dual tap listingBest Dual Tap Kegerators in 2026: 13 Picks by Specs
You need a wider cabinet for the towerA 24 inch listingBest 24 Inch Kegerators in 2026: 15 Picks by Specs
You are outfitting a small venueA commercial four tap listingBest Commercial Kegerators in 2026: 13 Picks by Specs

Questions

Is a four tap kegerator wider than a triple tap?

Not always. Tap count and width are separate details. A four tap title tells you the faucet count; the width appears in the dimension lines. Read both before you choose.

Can I add a fourth tap to a triple tap unit?

That depends on the tower and what the listing includes. If the listing sells a tap kit separately, you can plan for it. If the tower is part of the cabinet, count what the title states.

What does the tap count tell me about kegs?

The count is how many kegs you can serve at once. The capacity, like one keg or two kegs, is a separate detail on the listing and does not follow from the tap count.

Are triple tap units home or commercial?

Both. The word "commercial" in the title positions the unit for frequent service; the tap count is a separate feature. Read the listing for the cabinet details.

Why does a listing not state the tap count?

Some listings sell the cabinet only and leave the faucets as a separate kit. When a detail is missing, compare the bullet list and the box contents.

What should I check before picking a tap count?

Your space, the number of choices you want at once, and the listed cabinet width. Then match the count to a guide that compares stated details.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides